Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue
President of FPA Steve Dean (right) presents the 2016 FPA Leadership Award to Dr. Steven Zinkle

Zinkle Receives 2016 Leadership Award From Fusion Power Associates

Steve Zinkle, UT/ORNL Governor’s Chair professor in the Nuclear Engineering Department, received the 2016 Leadership Award from Fusion Power Associates (FPA) at its Annual Meeting in Washington, DC on December 13-14, 2016. FPA Leadership Awards have been given annually since 1980 to recognize persons who have shown outstanding leadership qualities in accelerating the development of fusion as a commercial power source. Zinkle is cited for “the leadership [he has] provided over many years on the important issues associated with materials for future fusion power plants” and noting especially “[his] many scientific contributions to the physical metallurgy of structural materials, the effects of neutron irradiation on materials, and [his] participation in, and leadership of, many fusion community workshops and program reviews.”