Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue
ANS UT Student Section

At a Glance

Brief History

  • Department founded in 1957
  • Produced over 1,400 graduates in the past 58 years

2016 Graduates

  • 81 Total (30 BS, 35 MS, 16 PhD)

2015 Enrollment

  • 349 Total (214 BS, 26 MS, 109 PhD)

Graduate Student Funding

  • 5 UT Chancellor’s Fellows
  • 17 Graduate Teaching Assistants
  • 70 Graduate Research Assistants
  • 4 Other (GEM, NANT, ESPN, NASA)


  • 18 Tenure/Tenure Track Faculty (5 Assistant, 4 Associate, 9 Full)
  • 3 Governor’s Chairs
  • 1 UT Chancellor’s Professor
  • 1 National Academy of Engineering, Member
  • 4 ORNL Based Joint Faculty
  • 20 Research Faculty (5 Full Time)
  • 25 Adjunct Faculty
  • 9 Post Doc Fellows

Support Staff

  • 7 Clerical and 2 Technical

FY 2015 Research

  • Expenditures = $10.8 million ($634K per FTE)

Research Focus Areas

  • Nuclear Fuels and Materials
  • Nuclear Security
  • Radiological Sciences and Health Physics
  • Nuclear I&C, Reliability, and Safety
  • Nuclear Fusion Technology
  • Nuclear Fuel Cycles
  • Advanced Modeling and Simulation

Knoxville Campus Research Facilities

  • Parallel Computing through Newton and local Beowulf clusters
  • Heat Transfer and Fluid Flow Measurements Laboratory
  • Data Acquisition and Instrument Characterization Laboratory
  • Prognostics, Reliability, and Control Laboratory
  • PWR Simulator (hardware and software)
  • Radiochemistry and Nuclear Forensics Laboratory
  • Ion Beam Materials Laboratory (IBML)
  • Micro-Processing Research Facility
  • UT/ORNL Joint Institute for Advanced Materials

Oak Ridge Campus Research Facilities (nearby at ORNL)

  • 85 MW High Flux Isotope Reactor (HFIR)
  • Spallation Neutron Source (SNS)
  • Nuclear Safeguards Laboratory
  • Radiochemical Engineering Development Center (REDC)
  • Low Activation Materials Development & Analysis (LAMBDA)
  •  Center for Radiation Detection Materials and Systems (CRDMS)
  • Titan Supercomputer (world’s 3rd most powerful Supercomputer)

Research Collaboration with Centers of Excellence

  • Y-12 National Security Complex
  • Reliability and Maintainability Center
  • Scintillation Materials Research Center
  • Thompson Cancer Survival Center
  • Consortium for Advanced Simulation of Light Water Reactors
  • Provision Center for Proton Therapy
  • Institute for Nuclear Security


Brian Wirth receives an award from the Department of Energy

UT-ORNL Governor’s Chair for Computational Nuclear Engineering Brian Wirth, right, receives a plaque from U.S. Department of Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz, center, honoring him as an Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award recipient. John Kotek, acting Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy, is at left. (Photo courtesy the Department of Energy)

New NE Building First on Campus Capital List

New NE Building First on Campus Capital List

2016 fact sheet