Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue
Loong Yong, Alan Icenhour, and Wes Hines at the induction ceremony for the Nuclear Engineering Department's Hall of Fame

Icenhour and Yong Inducted into Department of Nuclear Engineering’s Hall of Fame

Alan Icenhour and Loong Yong are the newest members of the Department of Nuclear Engineering’s Hall of Fame. They were officially inducted during the department’s awards banquet in April.

Icenhour’s Nuclear Journey

Icenhour is a nuclear technology consultant and retired Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) senior executive. He earned his bachelor’s in nuclear engineering from North Carolina State University, and his master’s and doctorate in nuclear engineering from UT. He is a fellow of the American Nuclear Society, a NC State Distinguished Engineering Alumnus, and an inductee of the NC State Nuclear Engineering Wall of Fame.

At the beginning of Icenhour’s career, he was a commissioned officer in the US Navy serving on a nuclear submarine. After leaving active duty, he continued as a reservist, retiring with the rank of Captain. Icenhour then worked at ORNL for almost 33 years before retiring in 2023.

In Icenhour’s last role at ORNL, he was the deputy laboratory director for operations and the chief operating officer. He previously served ORNL as the associate laboratory director for the Isotope Science and Engineering Directorate and the Nuclear Science and Engineering Directorate. He also served as the director for three ORNL research divisions.

Yong: CEO, Nuclear Engineer, and Board Member

Yong is founder and owner of a 300-person engineering company, Spectra Tech, Inc., that provides services in nuclear security, environmental cleanup, and nuclear energy across the US and several other countries. Yong earned his bachelor’s in nuclear engineering at Iowa State University, his master’s in nuclear engineering at Georgia Institute of Technology, and his doctorate in nuclear engineering at UT.

After more than three decades of professional experience, Yong serves on the board of directors of Waste Management Symposia, East Tennessee Economic Council, and the Oak Ridge Civic Music Association. He is also on the board of trustees for the Guitar Foundation of America and was appointed to the Tennessee Governor’s Nuclear Energy Advisory Council in 2023.

About the Hall of Fame

To be considered for inclusion in NE’s Hall of Fame, inductees must have a nuclear engineering degree from UT or another accredited engineering school or college with a sustained positive relationship with the department and have at least 10 years of engineering or other professional experience since earning their engineering degree. Inductees must also be recognized for their accomplishments and contributions to the profession and to society by membership in honorary societies, as well as receipt of special honors and awards from recognized national and international academic or industrial organizations.


Lilly Tran (