Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Alumnus Named Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honor Society President

C. Craig Smith.Knoxville resident C. Craig Smith, PE, former Vice-President of Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honor Society, was named the association’s President, effective January 1, 2020.

Smith was initiated into the ΤΒΠ Tennessee Epsilon chapter at the University of Memphis in 1980 where he graduated with a bachelor’s in mechanical engineering. He also earned a master’s in nuclear engineering from UT.

In 2007, he became involved in the Great Smoky Mountains Alumni Chapter of ΤΒΠ, taking on several officer roles including president; and in 2017 was elected to serve as a ΤΒΠ Executive Councillor. Before joining the Spallation Neutron Source (SNS), a Department of Energy research facility at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Smith worked for the Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) in nuclear plant design and with several engineering firms.

The new Tau Beta Pi officers.

Members of the current Tau Beta Pi executive council. Back row, from left to right: Michael Peterson, George Youssef, C. Craig Smith, George Morales, and Russ Pierce. Front row, from left to right: Rachel Alexander, Menna Youssef, Stephan King-Monroe, and Scott Fable.

His role at the SNS facility is as the central cooling systems team leader. SNS, currently operated by UT-Battelle, acts as a host to scientists and researchers from over 80 countries and is a key focal point for neutron scattering in the United States.