Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Meet Incoming Graduate Student Scholars

Kyra Lawson, Brian Ensign, and Sean Kosslow.

From left to right: Kyra Lawson, Brian Ensign, and Sean Kosslow.

Incoming NE graduate students Kyra Lawson, Brian Ensign, and Sean Kosslow are the recipients of three fellowships awarded by UT.

Kyra Lawson comes from Texas A&M University, where she studied nuclear engineering. She received the $5,000 Seaton Graduate Fellowship.

“I am incredibly grateful for the fellowship, and I am looking forward to working with Professors Chvala and Brown on molten salt reactor research,” she said.

The Seaton endowment honors the memory of Bruce Painter Seaton and Eva Woody Seaton. Their family established the endowment to promote opportunities for graduate students who demonstrate successful academic and professional performance.

Brian Ensign received his undergraduate degree in materials engineering from Iowa State University and is the recipient of the $5,000 Rowland Family Scholarship, designated to students in math, science, and engineering.

Sean Kosslow recently graduated from Penn State in nuclear engineering and is the recipient of the $10,000 Wallace and Dean Graduate Fellowship.

“I’m honored to receive the Wallace and Dean Fellowship as recognition of all the hard work I’ve done as an undergraduate student,” he said.