Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Nine NE Students Earn Nuclear Energy University Program Awards

As part of the US Department of Energy’s (DOE) ongoing commitment to educating the next generation of nuclear scientists and engineers, it annually awards educational grants to qualifying undergraduate and graduate students through its Nuclear Energy University Program (NEUP).

This year, nine students in UT’s nuclear engineering program received awards: seven undergraduates, and two graduates. The scholarships are worth $7,500 to qualifying undergraduate students and up to $155,000 over three years to qualifying graduate students for educational fellowships.

“The support from NEUP to deserving students who meet the academic thresholds helps create a strong pipeline of nuclear engineering professionals,” said NE Department Head Wes Hines. “Each year, we are pleased to see our students successfully compete for these awards, which allows them to offset their educational costs so they can focus on their studies.”

2020 Scholarship Winners:

  • David Burgess, sophomore
  • Ethan Deters, junior
  • Bradley Balltrip, senior
  • Ketaki Joshi, senior
  • Charles Miller McSwain, senior
  • Madison Ratner, senior
  • Elizabeth Smoak, senior

2020 Fellowship Winners:

  • John Hirtz, First-year PhD candidate
  • Alexandre Solomon, Second-year PhD candidate

Since 2009, 452 undergraduate scholarships to students from 58 US universities and colleges and 243 graduate fellowships to students from 44 US universities and colleges have been awarded.