Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Department Holds In-Person Awards Ceremony

Each spring, the department recognizes academic achievement, excellence in research, and impact from faculty and staff over the previous year.

This year, people were once again able to gather in person for the 2021–22 awards ceremony.

Students, faculty, and staff who were recognized are listed in the following, with explanation of certain honors given where needed.

Student Academic Awards

First-years: Adam Buchalter, Evan Brown, Rory Coll, Madison Vandergriff

Sophomores: Cade Abbott, James Carnal, Bradley Moore

Juniors: William Fritsch, Frederic Harris, Sophie Hitson, Marissa Knofczynski, Gabe Lentchner

Seniors: Annie Berens, Kenneth Bott, David Burgess

The US Department of Energy awards undergraduate scholarships and graduate fellowships to students pursuing degrees related to nuclear energy and nuclear science as part of its Nuclear Energy University Program (NEUP). The department once again led all colleges with seven undergraduates selected—two more than the closest other university—and tied for the most graduate fellowships with four. Read more about this year’s NEUP awards.

NEUP Scholarship Recipients ($10,000): James Carnal, Gabe Lentchner, Frederic Harris, Zach Hughes, Eli Logan, Hayden Sobas, Riley Burnette

NEUP Graduate Fellowship Recipients ($160,000 over three years): Annie Berens, Jack Fletcher, Mason Fox, Kyra Lawson

The First Step Awards recognize UT nuclear engineering students for having their first peer-reviewed journal article published. To qualify for this award, the student must be the first author on the article, signifying that the student led the research, analysis, and writing of the paper.

2021-22 Recipients: Corey Ahl, Pengcheng Zhu, Sawyer Irvine, Alex Solomon, Adrien Terricabras, Elizabeth Lindquist Yoon, Neal Gaffin, Samara Levine, Miles O’Neal

The Alpha Nu Sigma Honors Society was established to recognize high-achieving students in nuclear engineering. It is considered to be highly selective, as only the “top quarter of juniors, the top third of seniors, and the top third of graduate students” qualify as candidates.

Several members of Alpha Nu Sigma at the department's awards banquet.

Newly inducted members

New Members: Oliver Baldwin, Kailee Collins, Madison Allen, Jonathan Barthle, Casey Corbridge, Cade Brinkley, Cale Overstreet, Nicholas Militello, Bailey Bertrand, Ty Austin, Alexander Choi, Miller McSwain, Christian Young, Noah Marks, Anthony Tom, Lance Drouet, Carlotta Ghezzi, Daniel Fishman, Ryan Tan, William Fritsch, Hunter Salmon, Gabe Lentchner, Sophie Hitson, Marissa Knofczynski, Zachary Hughes, Kenneth Bott, Eric Olson

Departmental Student Awards

PhD Graduate Research Excellence Award: Jose March-Rico

Masters Graduate Research Excellence Award: Jack Morrison

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award: Khian Skidmore and Son Quang

Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award: Darrell Russell and Gabe Lentchner

Monthly Student Service Award Winners: Katy Worrell, Alyssa Hayes, Everett Cavanaugh, Ed Duchnowski, Sydney Copp, Emma Houston

Outstanding Undergraduate Tutor Award: Bailey Bertrand

Outstanding Student Ambassador Award: Libby Smoak, Anthony Tom, Sophie Hitson

Departmental Faculty and Staff Awards:

NE Professor of the Year Award: Jason Hayward and Sandra Bogetic

Research Excellence Award: Jun Ren

NE Outstanding Staff Award: Tonya Mathes

NE Faculty Service Award: Eric Lukosi

NE Staff Service Award: Ashley Nelkin

Outstanding Staff Peer Award: Gina Hale