Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

ANS News Round-Up

ANS logo.The department has had several pieces of American Nuclear Society (ANS) news to share from the summer and fall semesters.

Wes Hines.Department Head Wes Hines is the 2020 recipient of the Robert L. Long Training Excellence Award, given by the ANS Education and Training and Workforce Development Division’s Honors and Awards Committee.

Read more about Hines’ award.

Richard Wood.Professor Richard T. Wood was honored with the Don Miller Award from the Human Factors, Instrumentation, and Controls Division of ANS. This award recognizes his lifelong commitment and contributions to nuclear digital system design, licensing, and standards, with an emphasis on all aspects of digital system safety, reliability, and qualification in the US and international communities.

Read more about Wood’s award.

Vladimir Sobes.Assistant Professor Vlad Sobes has received the Early Career Reactor Physicist Award from ANS. This award was established in 2013 to recognize early career members of the Reactor Physics Division who have made significant contributions in the field of reactor physics.

Read more about Sobes’ award.

Four NE students earned funding from ANS to pursue their education in the nuclear field. Congratulations to Madison Allen, Sawyer B. Irvine, Charles Miller McSwain, and Amanda Bachmann.

Read more about the students’ awards.

ANS elected NE faculty members Richard Lagdon, Lawrence Heilbronn, and Nicholas Brown to its leadership. Lagdon is now on the organization’s national board of directors. Heilbronn and Brown have both been elected to vice chair/chair-elects positions, though of different divisions. Heilbronn serves on the Radiation Protection and Shielding Division, while Brown serves on the Nuclear Installations Safety Division.

Read more about their new roles in ANS.