Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

ANS Elects Three UT Faculty to Leadership Roles

Collage of headshots of Lawrence Heilbronn, Richard Lagdon, and Nicholas Brown.

From left to right: Lawrence Heilbronn, Richard Lagdon, and Nicholas Brown.

The American Nuclear Society (ANS) recently elected three UT Nuclear Engineering faculty members to its leadership.

ANS recently elected seven new members to its national board of directors, including Professor of Practice Richard Lagdon who also serves as the chief engineer of nuclear operations and safety at Bechtel National.

John D. Tickle Associate Professor Lawrence Heilbronn was elected to vice chair/chair-elect of the Radiation Protection and Shielding Division, which is responsible for developing and promoting radiation protection and shielding aspects of nuclear science and technology.

Associate Professor Nicholas Brown was elected to vice chair/chair elect of Nuclear Installations Safety Division. This division seeks a better understanding of the role of safety in the design, construction and operation of nuclear installation facilities and promotes engineering and scientific technology advancement associated with the safety of such facilities.

“We are incredibly proud to have our faculty represented in the ANS leadership,” said Department Head Wes Hines. “The ANS works to advance, foster, and spur the development and application of nuclear science, engineering, and technology to benefit society, and UT is a longtime supporter of its vision.”

ANS elects chairs to 18 professional divisions focused on unique technical areas. The Professional Divisions provide members a more focused means to participate in the Society and support the development of the larger nuclear professional community.