Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

2021 Faculty and Staff Awards Announced

The Tickle College of Engineering annually honors outstanding members of the college during the spring Faculty and Staff Awards, recognizing efforts of those who have gone above and beyond to help make the college successful. The department is thrilled to share that a staff member and several faculty were selected for awards, as listed below.

Traditionally, those chosen for an award are honored at a banquet where their peers can publicly applaud their efforts, but due to measures put in place to prevent the spread of COVID-19, this year’s event will be fully virtual.

The event is also where the Nathan W. Dougherty Award—the highest honor bestowed by the college—is given to those who have brought acclaim to the university. This year’s honoree is Kim Greene, a 1984 graduate of the college and the current chairman, president, and chief executive officer for Southern Company Gas. Read more about her success and her selection as the 2021 Dougherty Award winner.

Staff Award Winners

Inspirational Leadership Award

Recognizes an individual who inspires others. They influence without authority, often putting the interests of others ahead of their own, and serve as “a champion for staff.”

Michelle McBee
Accounting Specialist I

Michelle is an extraordinary and essential member of the Nuclear Engineering team and serves as inspiration to all TCE staff with her commitment to the students, faculty, her fellow staff, and the university. When Michelle began her work in the department, she was the first person everyone would meet coming into the Nuclear Engineering building. She had a variety of roles, but everyone in the department whether you were staff, faculty, or a student knew that if you had a question or needed help that Michelle was there for you.

Outstanding Faculty and Service Award Winners

Outstanding Service to the College Award

Jamie Coble
Assistant Department Head and Associate Professor

The breadth and depth of Jamie’s service at all levels in the university are well-known throughout UT. Of particular importance to the college is her dedicated service to efforts at promoting diversity, equity, and inclusion. She served on the TCE’s Diversity Action Plan Executive Committee, has been assisting with WomEngineer’s Day since its inception, as well as being involved with the annual WomEngineer’s Welcome Dinner. She also represents the college on the undergraduate council, the Commission for Women, and the Council for Diversity and Interculturalism.

Outstanding Service to the Discipline Award

David Donovan
Associate Professor

The highlight of David’s recent professional service is his leadership in the Division of Plasma Physics Community Planning Process. This group was assembled to assist the US Department of Energy Fusion Energy Sciences Advisory Committee with long-range strategic planning. As a result, he was named lead organizing chair for one of the workshops, which was ultimately held at our own Knoxville Convention Center with attendees from around the country.

Charles E. Ferris Faculty Award

Recognizes and rewards faculty with a distinguished record of research and teaching as well as a record of contributions to the advancement of technology in the local community through local public engagement in the professional discipline.

Wes Hines
Postelle Professor, Chancellor’s Professor, Department Head

During Wes’ time as Vice Chancellor for Research, the university saw the expansion of the Joint Directed Research and Development program with ORNL and partnerships with the Plant Directed Research and Development Program with Y-12. He has served on the advisory boards of ORNL, the Nuclear Science and Engineering Directorate, the East Tennessee Economic Council Board, and the Oak Ridge Cleanup Advisory Council. In addition, he developed a minor in the discipline that provided secure local jobs in the Knoxville and Oak Ridge communities.

Professional Promise in Research Award Winners

Recognizes tenured or tenure-track faculty members at the assistant or associate professor rank who have received national or international recognition in their fields and show professional promise in their research.

Maik Lang
Associate Professor and Pietro F. Pasqua Fellow

Maik continues to build upon his laboratory’s capabilities with the addition of new equipment of which he makes available to others in the college and university. He was also involved with more fundamental condensed matter physics research and is an internationally recognized expert in the behavior of materials under extreme conditions. He can already be considered to be one of the world leaders in the field of swift heavy ion effects in materials.