Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

2020 NEUP Grants Fund UT-Led Nuclear Engineering Research

Collage of photos of Brian Wirth, Nicholas Brown, Jamie Coble, and Steven Zinkle.

The Nuclear Energy University Program (NEUP) of the US Department of Energy funds millions of dollars in research being conducted at US colleges and universities that supports DOE’s mission and goals.

NEUP logo.Funded projects focus on the needs and priorities of key Office of Nuclear Energy programs, including fuel cycle, reactor concepts, and mission supporting research.

UT-led research projects and projects with UT co-principal investigators that received NEUP awards include the following:

UT-ORNL Governor’s Chair Professor Brian Wirth (PI)

Associate Professor Nick Brown (Co-PI)

  • “Multi-physics Fuel Performance Modeling of TRISO-bearing Fuel in Advanced Reactor Environments”

Associate Professor and Southern Company Faculty Fellow Jamie Coble serves as Co-PI on two projects:

  • “A Holistic Artificial Intelligence Tool to Mitigate Human Factor Uncertainty in Operation and Maintenance” – Led by UT Industrial and Systems Engineering Assistant Professor Anahita Khojandi (PI)
  • “Innovative Enhanced Automation Control Strategies for Multi-unit SMRs” – Led by University of Michigan Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences Assistant Professor Brendan Kochunas (PI)

UT-ORNL Governor’s Chair for Nuclear Materials Steven Zinkle (Co-PI)

  • “Investigation of Novel Nickel-Based Alloys for Molten Chloride Fast Reactor Structural Applications” – Led by University of Cincinnati, Materials Science and Engineering Professor Vijay K. Vasudevan (PI)