Skip to content

Wirth Inducted as AAAS Fellow

Dr. Brian Wirth, UT/ORNL Governor’s Chair for Computational Nuclear Engineering, was officially inducted as a new AAAS Fellow on Saturday, February 18, at the AAAS meeting in Boston. He was named a 2016 AAAS Fellow in the Physics section with a citation was for “advancing knowledge of radiation damage mechanisms and fuel performance in fission and fusion energy via multiscale modeling using high performance computing validated by experiments.”

Read more about AAAS here.

Professors Receive 2017 JDRD Awards

Two Nuclear Engineering Assistant Professors, Dr. Maik Lang and Dr. Eric Lukosi, were given Joint Directed Research Development (JDRD) awards for 2017 as part of the Science Alliance—a Tennessee Center of Excellence managed by the Office of Research and Engagement. The JDRD program was conceived to provide faculty members an opportunity to work collaboratively with researchers at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL).

To learn more, click here.


President of FPA Steve Dean (right) presents the 2016 FPA Leadership Award to Dr. Steven Zinkle

Zinkle Receives 2016 Leadership Award From Fusion Power Associates

Steve Zinkle, UT/ORNL Governor’s Chair professor in the Nuclear Engineering Department, received the 2016 Leadership Award from Fusion Power Associates (FPA) at its Annual Meeting in Washington, DC on December 13-14, 2016. FPA Leadership Awards have been given annually since 1980 to recognize persons who have shown outstanding leadership qualities in accelerating the development of fusion as a commercial power source. Zinkle is cited for “the leadership [he has] provided over many years on the important issues associated with materials for future fusion power plants” and noting especially “[his] many scientific contributions to the physical metallurgy of structural materials, the effects of neutron irradiation on materials, and [his] participation in, and leadership of, many fusion community workshops and program reviews.”

Hashemian Named to Nuclear Advisory Committee

Hash Hashemian, an adjunct professor in the Department of Nuclear Engineering, was recently named to the US Department of Commerce Civil Nuclear Trade Advisory Committee.

The committee was established in 2008 to help advise the department on the development and administration of efforts related to making the US nuclear industry more competitive.

“Maintaining US leadership in the nuclear industry is critical to our country’s economic vitality and to global efforts to combat climate change,” said Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker. “[The committee] is a valuable mechanism for private sector representatives to contribute to policy discussions and work with government leaders to create the conditions that will strengthen US competitiveness in this sector.”

As president and CEO of Analysis and Measurement Services Corporation, Hashemian heads a globally recognized leader in nuclear energy and safety. In fact, AMS has establishing a connection in every nuclear plant in the United States as well as in several other countries.

It is only the most recent honor for Hashemian, who in the past few months has also been named a fellow of the American Nuclear Society and the recipient of the Dougherty Award from UT’s Tickle College of Engineering.

A full release from the Department of Commerce can be seen here.

ORNL NESLS 1st Place Poster Session Winner: Angela Simone

ORNL NESLS 1st Place Poster Session Winner: Angela Simone

Angela Simone,  won first prize at the Nuclear Engineering Science Laboratory Synthesis Program (NESLS) Poster Competition at ORNL.

Characterizing the Oak Ridge Large Volume Active Well Coincidence Counter for Nuclear Safeguards Applications

A.T. Simone, S. Croft, R. Venkataraman, and J.P. Hayward

The Oak Ridge Large Volume Active Well Coincidence Counter (LV AWCC) is a variant of the LANL-designed AWCC but with a larger cavity and 48 3He tubes. Various measurements including a high-voltage characteristic, count rate as a function of predelay time, and dead time were taken with the LV AWCC to characterize this system.  Non-ideal behaviors of the counter were discovered through pulse train analysis. Double pulsing, a form of non-ideal behavior, is an unwanted artifact of the electronics design and operation of neutron detectors. It contributes to an increased count rate when assaying samples and is therefore necessary to identify and characterize before absolute measurements can be taken. By running the LV AWCC at 1900 V (far above the recommended setting of 1720 V), this phenomenon was studied more easily.

The authors thank the DOE/NNSA Office of Nonproliferation and Arms Control (NA-24) for the support given to enable this work.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.